2013 Round 7 Race Report – Moore Back On Top!

The experienced Moore returned to form at the Vee Festival meeting

The experienced Moore returned to form at the Vee Festival meeting

After a few bad weekends, Ray Moore bounced back to the top step of the podium with a lights to flag victory in his Bernard Dolan Racing Leastone at round 7 of the Crowne Plaza National Formula Vee Championship at Mondello Park. Moore’s run of bad luck seems to have been passed to championship rivals Adam Macauley and Dan Polley, both having DNF’s from the race.

While Moore was fastest in testing, took pole position and the win, it was class returnee Trevor Delaney who took fastest race lap and second place ahead of AvantiSport’s Kevin Grogan. There had been a race long three way battle for second place involving Polley but a last lap collision with Delaney eliminated the LOH Sheane on the spot and gave Polley his second DNF of the season.

The Leastones of Colm Blackburn, Morgan McCourt and Stephen Morrin completed the top six with 16 year old rookie, Jack Byrne, finishing seventh in his Abbeylawn Sheane. With Macauley and Polley both having DNF’s, the championship table is now very tight at the top.

The earlier race for the Dunlop Formula Vee Championship and the VW Spares Rookie Championship was dominated by Colm Blackburn in the works Leastone and Sean Newsome in the Newsome Racing Sheane. In only his second ever race, Newsome battled hard for the win before ultimately settling for second place 10 seconds ahead of Morgan McCourt in the KERS Leastone.

After Round 7 of the national championship, Macauley now holds a narrow lead over Moore while Morgan McCourt’s lead of the Dunlop Championship is reduced to just one point. Justin Costello remains on top of the VW Spares Rookie Championship ahead of Brendan O Brien.

Star Drive – Ray Moore. Fastest in testing, pole position and the race win by over 8 seconds. There was no doubting that Moore and Bernard Dolan have put in a lot of effort since the previous round and fully deserved the win.

Total Oils Fastest Lap Award – Trevor Delaney.

Posted in 2013 Race Reports and tagged , , , , , , .