Grogan Takes 2014 Formula Vee Season Opener


Kevin Grogan leads Sean Newsome Through Turn 1 at Mondello Park

Kevin Grogan leads Sean Newsome Through Turn 1 at Mondello Park.
(c) James Foley Photography.

After the long winter break, the Formula Vee championship season started at Mondello Park last weekend with Kevin Grogan taking the spoils in a very close Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee race.

Reigning champion, Adam Macaulay, had been very strong in pre-season testing and duly qualified his Sheane on pole with Jimmy Furlong lining up beside him on the front row of the grid. A great getaway when the lights went out, coupled with contact between the two front row men, saw Grogan move from fourth to first at the first corner and then keep his AvantiSport Leastone in the lead all the way to the chequered flag. He didn’t have it all his own way however, as Sean Newsome tried for several laps to take the lead before spinning out. Dave O Brien in his Newsome Racing Sheane was up next to put Grogan under pressure for the remainder of the race. The gap at the chequered flag was only 0.16secs.

Behind the leading duo, another fantastic battle took place between the LOH Motorsport Sheane of Dan Polley and David Kelly’s Sheane with Polley emerging on top to take the third step on the podium.

With the exception of Colm Blackburn who finished a lonely 5th in his works Leastone, there were battles right through the field with less than 0.02secs covering some of the 23 competitors.

After the race, Grogan said “I really had to work for this win. It was a very tough race but I’m happy to get the win. It’s a great way to start the season”.

The earlier qualifying race saw 8 newcomers to the class compete in the Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship. Stephen Morrin won the race outright to take the lead of the B Championship but had to fend off newcomer Anthony Cross who led for several laps before being passed by the more experienced Morrin. Behind the lead pair, there was another tight battle between the 2013 Rookie Champion, Justin Costello, and Damian Murphy in his Leastone with Costello leading over the line by 0.12secs at the flag.

The next two rounds of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk Formula Vee Championship takes place at the Bishopscourt Circuit on 12/13 May.

VW Spares Highest Grid Mover – Shane McBride
Mondello Park Fastest Lap – David Kelly
Finol Star of Tomorrow Fastest Lap (for Rookies) – Shane McBride

Star Drive: Kevin Grogan. Qualified 4th and made the most of the first corner drama to take the lead all the way to the chequered flag under immense pressure from Sean Newsome and then Dave O Brien. This definitely wasn’t an easy win.


For further information, please contact Ivan Casey via email at

Posted in 2014 Race Reports and tagged , , , , , , , , .