Macaulay Bounces Back On The Double


The Formula Vee Grid  Gets Off The Line at Bishopscourt. (c) James Foley Photography.

The Formula Vee Grid Gets Off The Line at Bishopscourt
(c) James Foley Photography.

After a first corner incident at the season opener, Adam Macaulay got his title defence of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee Championship back on track with two wins at the Bishopscourt Racing Circuit.

Initially race 1 was started in monsoon conditions on Saturday afternoon. After several incidents, including a heavy shunt for Macaulay, the race was red flagged at the end of the first lap and racing abandoned for the day. Once the race was re-started on Sunday morning, it was immediately led by the Newsome Racing trio of Macaulay, Jimmy Furlong and Sean Newsome. AvantiSport Racing’s Kevin Grogan quickly dispatched Newsome at the end of lap 1 and set a string of fastest laps to catch the lead pair. A race long battle with the leading three saw multiple lead changes and Macaulay cross the line for victory closely pursued by Furlong and Grogan.

Race 2, on Sunday afternoon, was held on a dry track with Macaulay on pole once again and Grogan lining up beside him on the front row. Grogan got into Turn 1 first followed by Furlong and Macaulay. Another race long battle ensued with Macaulay taking his second win of the day from Grogan. Furlong retired on the penultimate lap with engine issues.

The real highlight of race 2 was the battle for P4 to P8 between Sean Newsome, Colm Blackburn, David O Brien, Dan Polley and SM Racing’s Stephen Morrin. Leastone Racing’s Blackburn had started on the last row of the grid after issues in the previous race but a hard charge in the opening laps saw him up to P5 by lap 4. Newsome, Blackburn and O Brien each took turns at leading this group with multiple position changes per lap. On several occasions, all three went side by side through Bishopscourt’s 100mph+ Turn 1 without incident leading to a last lap showdown. Contact between LOH Motorsport’s Polley and Newsome saw Blackburn deservedly lead the group home from O Brien, Morrin and a damaged Newsome.

After three rounds, Kevin Grogan leads the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee Championship from reigning champion Adam Macaulay with David O Brien in third. Stephen Morrin sits on top of the B Championship ahead of Morgan McCourt and Brendan O Brien. The Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship is currently being led by Anthony Cross from Shane McBride and Mark Elliott.

Formula Vee returns to championship action at Mondello Park on 7/8 June.

Round 2
– VW Spares Highest Grid Mover: Kevin Grogan
– Finol Star of Tomorrow Fastest Lap: Sean Newsome

Round 3
– VW Spares Highest Grid Mover: Colm Blackburn
– Finol Star of Tomorrow Fastest Lap: Sean Newsome

Star Drive: On any other weekend, Adam Macaulay or Sean Newsome would have been deserving of the Star Drive. However, Colm Blackburn gets it for Bishopscourt after his spirited drive from the back of the grid to P3 and his race long battle with rookie Sean Newsome.


For further information, please contact Ivan Casey via email at or on 087-2256965.

Posted in 2014 Race Reports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .