Moore Back On The Top Step In Formula Vee

Race Report by Stephen Morrin

Ray Moore wins on his return to the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee Championship. (c) James Foley Photography.

Ray Moore wins on his return to the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee Championship.
(c) James Foley Photography.

Following our recent trip to Kirkistown at the end of June the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee championship rolled into Mondello Park for Round 6 on 12th July. The healthy growth of the class seen in 2014 continues with 26 cars entered and 4 new drivers making their debut. Overnight rain had cleared by morning but conditions were damp when drivers took to the track for qualifying. In tricky conditions Dave O’Brien took pole position, four tenths ahead of the returning Ray Moore and reigning champion Adam Macaulay. A spin early in the session meant front-runner Kevin Grogan had to start from a lowly 12th position. Newcomer Mark McCormack impressed with 9th position in his first ever Formula Vee outing.

When the lights went out at the start it was Moore who took the lead into Ford corner. However the Newsome Racing pair of Dave O’Brien and Adam Macaulay kept the pressure on and on Lap 7 O’Brien overtook Moore to take the lead. Now it was Moore’s turn to put the pressure on the leader and he re-took the lead on Lap 10 and held the position to the flag. On the penultimate lap Macaulay managed to squeeze past O’Brien to finish second, while O’Brien held onto the final step on the podium. Just behind the top trio was a very close battle between Colm Blackburn and Kevin Grogan who traded places several times throughout the race before Blackburn edged out Grogan to 4th by the smallest of margins at the flag.

In the earlier qualifying race Sean Newsome had qualified on pole but fell to second behind Stephen Morrin at the start. A worsening oil leak ended Morrin’s chances on Lap 4 and it was Newsome who then lead, followed closely by Morgan McCourt and Justin Costello. The trio traded places for the next few laps before a spin for Costello on Lap 9 dropped him out of contention. McCourt stayed with Newsome for the remainder of the race but couldn’t find a way past and crossed the line in a season-best second place. Gavin Buckley continued his impressive showing in 2014 with a fine drive to 3rd position from 8th on the grid.

After six rounds, Adam Macaulay leads the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee Championship from Kevin Grogan with Dave O’Brien in third. Morgan McCourt has closed the gap to Stephen Morrin in the B Championship while the Finol Star of Tomorrow Championship is currently being led by Sean Newsome from Anthony Cross and Shane McBride.

Round 7 of the Crowne Plaza Dundalk National Formula Vee Championship takes place at the Kirkistown Circuit on 26 July.

VW Spares Highest Grid Mover – Kevin Grogan/Justin Costello
Mondello Park Fastest Lap – Adam Macaulay
Finol Star of Tomorrow Fastest Lap – Sean Newsome

Star Drive: Ray Moore. Returning to racing for the first time in 2014, Moore showed no sign of rustiness with a very close race with regular front runners Macaulay and O’Brien and took the win.


For further information, please contact Ivan Casey via email at or on 087-2256965.

Posted in 2014 Race Reports and tagged , , , , , , , , , .